Friday, 16 June 2017

ICC Champions Trophy: Match officials for India vs Pakistan final announced

South Africa’s Marais Erasmus and England’s Richard Kettleborough will be the on-field umpires for the Champions Trophy final between arch-rivals India and Pakistan, the International Cricket Council (ICC) announced Friday.

ICC Champions Trophy

Both officials are known for their calm demeanour, a quality that could come in useful with a capacity and raucous crowd expected at The Oval in south London on Sunday when India and Pakistan meet in the latest edition of international cricket’s most high-profile clash.

Both Tucker and Dharmasena stood in each of the semi-finals.
Former Australia cricketer David Boon will be the match referee for the final.
A Virat Kohli-led India began their title defence with a 124-run thrashing of Pakistan at Edgbaston on June 4.
June 18: Champions Trophy final, The Oval
Umpires: Marais Erasmus (RSA), Richard Kettleborough (ENG)
TV umpire: Rod Tucker (AUS)
Match referee: David Boon (AUS)
Reserve umpire: Kumar Dharmasena (SRI)

(With inputs from AFP)